Afraid of…?

Today someone asked again.  “What are you afraid of most?”

Perhaps I should put the answer on this blog’s “Questions and Responses” tab, as it frequently comes up.  But I always pause– not because I’m not feeling anything, but because I am not sure “fear” is the word to describe it.

Yesterday a young woman said to me, “Don’t be afraid.”  She is from China, and was the only believer in Jesus in her family.  After a long season of prayer, some quietly courageous acts on her part, and God’s work in their hearts, her mother and sister chose to follow… and eventually her father as well.  My friend knew I am heading overseas in a few weeks, and after telling the story of her family, she told me to be courageous.  To go and to not hold back.

I think I’m “grieving” more than fearful.  I have wonderful friends and family, people close to my heart, with whom I enjoy walking through life here.  What I fear is that I’ll say the goodbyes, go to the Middle East, but it won’t make an impact on people there.  Would I be content going even if I don’t see change/transformation right away, or even for awhile?

I will take my friend from China’s advice.  I will not hold back, I will go, and I will leave results in the hands of the one who made me and my friends-to-be in the Middle East.  He is the one who transforms, and He is the one who calms fears.  Thankfully, He is also present in the sorrow.  But that’s a second story.

3 thoughts on “Afraid of…?

  1. right on, my friend. and the grieving shows that what you leave behind has been valuable. a blessing. and there are more blessings to come.

  2. You will make an impact that’s a guarantee. You have the Spirit of the One who conquered the grave living in you, He is impactful in all He does. You might not see it with your physical eyes for a little while, but I’m praying that when that happens it will give birth to humility and perseverance rather than frustration. I heard someone quote MT the other day “…small things with great love” which was a humbling reminder. Your heart is rich.

Leave a Reply

